Homepage News World Service Education Scotland Wales Northern Ireland

You are in: Cricket: Scorecards:
Sport Front Page
The Ashes
Rugby Union
Rugby League
Other Sports
Special Events
Sports Talk
BBC Pundits
TV & Radio
Question of Sport
Photo Galleries
Funny Old Game
Around The UK: 
N Ireland
BBC News
BBC Weather
South Africa v Sri Lanka One Day International South Africa v Sri Lanka: Sri Lanka v South Africa
4-12-2002 at Kimberley

South Africa beat Sri Lanka by 8 wickets

South Africa won the toss and decided to field
Sri Lanka
184 all out (47.3 overs)
South Africa
190 for 2 (30.5 overs)

 Sri Lanka First Innings
 Batsman Runs  Balls  4s  6s 
 M S Atapattu run out 39  46 
 S T Jayasuriya c N D McKenzie b A A Donald 27  33 
 K C Sangakkara c N D McKenzie b J H Kallis
 P A de Silva c M Ntini b J H Kallis
 D P M D Jayawardene lbw b A A Donald 20 
 H P Tillakaratne b S M Pollock 18  47 
 R P Arnold c N D McKenzie b S M Pollock 50  88 
 W P U J C Vaas lbw b S M Pollock 11 
 R A P Nissanka c M V Boucher b L Klusener
 C R D Fernando c M V Boucher b A A Donald
 P W Gunaratne not out 13  19 
 Extras 4b 8lb 6w 2nb 20  
 TOTAL 47.3 overs (all out) 184  

 Bowler  Fall of wickets:
 S M Pollock 9.3  40   1-58 [ M S Atapattu, 45 mins]
 M Ntini 9.0  35   2-61 [ K C Sangakkara, 3 mins]
 J H Kallis 5.0  25   3-64 [ P A de Silva, 7 mins]
 A A Donald 10.0  18   4-78 [ S T Jayasuriya, 18 mins]
 L Klusener 9.0  29   5-97 [ D P M D Jayawardene, 19 mins]
 R J Peterson 5.0  25   6-131 [ H P Tillakaratne, 55 mins]
           7-146 [ W P U J C Vaas, 14 mins]
           8-152 [ R A P Nissanka, 6 mins]
           9-155 [ C R D Fernando, 4 mins]
           10-184 [ R P Arnold, 30 mins]

 South Africa First Innings
 Batsman Runs  Balls  4s  6s 
 H H Gibbs not out 108  92  14 
 A J Hall lbw b W P U J C Vaas
 N D McKenzie c K C Sangakkara b P W Gunaratne
 J H Kallis not out 64  83 
 Extras 4b 0lb 5w 0nb 9  
 TOTAL 30.5 overs (for 2 wickets) 190  

 Bowler  Fall of wickets:
 W P U J C Vaas 9.0  42   1-7 [ A J Hall, 8 mins]
 P W Gunaratne 6.0  46   2-18 [ N D McKenzie, 6 mins]
 R A P Nissanka 5.0  29   
 C R D Fernando 5.0  30   
 S T Jayasuriya 4.5  29   
 D P M D Jayawardene 1.0  10   

Umpires: I L Howell, R B Tiffin

South Africa
S M Pollock (capt), H H Gibbs, M V Boucher (wkt), N D McKenzie, J H Kallis, L Klusener, J N Rhodes, A J Hall, R J Peterson, A A Donald, M Ntini

Sri Lanka
S T Jayasuriya (capt), K C Sangakkara (wkt), M S Atapattu, P A de Silva, D P M D Jayawardene, R P Arnold, W P U J C Vaas, P W Gunaratne, R A P Nissanka, H P Tillakaratne, C R D Fernando
^^ Back to top