Australian Grand Prix as it happened

Jenson Button wins the season-opening Australian Grand Prix ahead of Sebastian Vettel and Lewis Hamilton.

9 September 2012 Last updated at 14:23

Get involved

To get involved contact us in any of the following ways

  • Send us a text: 81111
  • Twitter:#bbcf1

As it happened


After 58 of 58 laps
Position Driver Team

Race completed

1 Great Britain J Button McLaren
2 Germany S Vettel Red Bull
3 Great Britain L Hamilton McLaren
4 Australia M Webber Red Bull
5 Spain F Alonso Ferrari
6 Japan K Kobayashi Sauber
7 Finland K Raikkonen Lotus
8 Mexico S Perez Sauber
9 Australia D Ricciardo Toro Rosso
10 Great Britain P Di Resta Force India
11 France J Vergne Toro Rosso
12 Germany N Rosberg Mercedes
13 Venezuela P Maldonado Williams
14 Germany T Glock Marussia
15 France C Pic Marussia
16 Brazil B Senna (ret.) Williams
17 Brazil F Massa (ret.) Ferrari
18 Finland H Kovalainen (ret.) Caterham
19 Russian Federation V Petrov (ret.) Caterham
20 Germany M Schumacher (ret.) Mercedes
21 France R Grosjean Lotus
22 Germany N Hulkenberg Force India