World Cup 2014: BBC to show England v Italy group match

The BBC will show England's first group match against Italy on 14 June, after the split of live matches for the World Cup in Brazil was announced.

ITV will screen England's games against Uruguay and Costa Rica, and the opener between Brazil and Croatia on 12 June.

The BBC's live coverage starts with Spain v Netherlands on 13 June.

The BBC has the first pick of the last 16 and semi-finals games, while ITV has first pick of the quarter-finals. Both will show the final live on 13 July.

Roy Hodgson's men open their campaign against Italy in the Amazonian city of Manaus on 14 June at 23:00 BST.

England have never beaten Italy or Uruguay at a major tournament, while they have never faced Costa Rica.

Philip Bernie, BBC head of TV sport, said: "We're very pleased with our selection of matches. The BBC is delighted to be showing this great selection of games and our audiences will be able to join in - not only live on BBC One but on radio and online, where our very extensive coverage will deliver the first truly digital World Cup."

Niall Sloane, ITV director of sport, added: "Viewers will be able to watch all matches live online on, which will also host a dedicated World Cup site offering comprehensive coverage in the build-up to - and throughout - what promises to be a special tournament in this most iconic of football countries."

Full TV split for the group matches

12 June: Brazil v Croatia (21:00, ITV)

13 June: Mexico v Cameroon (17:00, ITV), Spain v Netherlands (20:00, BBC), Chile v Australia (23:00, ITV)

14 June: Colombia v Greece (17:00, BBC), Uruguay v Costa Rica (20:00, ITV), England v Italy (23:00, BBC)

15 June: Ivory Coast v Japan (02:00, ITV), Switzerland v Ecuador (17:00, ITV), France v Honduras (20:00, BBC), Argentina v Bosnia-Hercegovina (23:00, BBC)

16 June: Germany v Portugal (17:00, ITV), Iran v Nigeria (20:00, BBC), Ghana v USA (23:00, BBC)

17 June: Brazil v Mexico (20:00, BBC), Belgium v Algeria (17:00, ITV), Russia v South Korea (23:00, BBC)

18 June: Cameroon v Croatia (23:00, ITV), Australia v Holland (17:00, ITV), Spain v Chile (20:00, BBC)

19 June: Colombia v Ivory Coast (17:00, BBC), Japan v Greece (23:00, BBC), England v Uruguay (20:00, ITV)

20 June: France v Switzerland (20:00, ITV), Italy v Costa Rica (17:00, BBC), Honduras v Ecuador (23:00, ITV)

21 June: Germany v Ghana (20:00. BBC), Argentina v Iran (17:00, ITV), Nigeria v Bosnia-Hercegovina (23:00, BBC)

22 June: Belgium v Russia (17:00, BBC), USA v Portugal (23:00, BBC), South Korea v Algeria (20:00, ITV)

23 June: Cameroon v Brazil (21:00, ITV), Croatia v Mexico (21:00, ITV), Australia v Spain (17:00, ITV), Holland v Chile (17:00, ITV)

24 June: Japan v Colombia (21:00, BBC), Greece v Ivory Coast (21:00, BBC), England v Costa Rica (17:00, ITV), Uruguay v Italy (17:00, ITV)

25 June: Ecuador v France (21:00, BBC), Honduras v Switzerland (21:00, BBC), Nigeria v Argentina (17:00, ITV), Bosnia-Hercegovina v Iran (17:00, ITV)

26 June: South Korea v Belgium (21:00, ITV), Algeria v Russia (21:00, ITV), USA V Germany (17:00, BBC), Portugal v Ghana (17:00, BBC)

(All times are British Summer Time)