22 October 2013 Last updated at 07:24

Rugby League World Cup: New Zealand shock Australia in 2008

Rugby League World Cup

  • Dates: 26 October to 30 November

Coverage: Live BBC TV and online coverage of all England's group matches and Wales v Italy, plus one quarter-final, one semi-final and the final. All matches live on BBC Radio 5 live or 5 live sports extra

New Zealand shock hosts and holders Australia 20-34 in a controversial and dramatic final to win the 2008 Rugby League World Cup in Brisbane.

Two tries from skipper Darren Lockyer gave the Kangaroos a half-time lead, but five second-half scores from New Zealand gave the underdogs an historic win.

England host the 2013 edition of the tournament, which begins on 26 of October.