11 December 2012 Last updated at 21:15

The history of the Club World Cup

BBC Sport takes a look at the history of the Club World Cup, which is taking place in Japan.

The tournament began in 2000, with Manchester United being the sole English winners of the competition - they triumphed in 2008.

Chelsea are making their debut at the Club World Cup, hoping to add the trophy to their FA Cup and Champions League triumphs earlier this year.

Available to UK users only.

Club World Cup

  • Venue: Toyota & Yokohama, Japan
  • Date: Wednesday 12th - Sunday 16th December
  • Kick-off: 10:30 GMT

Coverage: Live on BBC HD, Red Button and online. Live text commentary on the BBC Sport website. Highlights on Red Button from 19:30 GMT. Final on BBC Two, highlights on Red Button from 14:00 GMT.