Championship fixtures: Bolton handed opening Burnley test

Bolton manager Owen Coyle will face former club Burnley on the opening day of the 2012-13 Championship season.

Coyle moved from Burnley to Bolton in January 2010, with the Turf Moor club relegated a few months later.

Bolton's 11-year stay in the Premier League came to end when they could only draw with Stoke on the final day of the last campaign.

Blackburn start their season away to Ipswich, while Wolves play Leeds United at Elland Road.

Rovers and Terriers back again

  • Blackburn Rovers and Huddersfield Town were last in the second tier of English football in 2001 - Blackburn were promoted to the Premier League as runners-up, Huddersfield finished 22nd and were relegated

The three sides promoted from League One are also all away on the first day of 2012-13.

Charlton Athletic will go to St Andrews to play Birmingham City, Derby will host Sheffield Wednesday while Huddersfield Town, who went up via the play-offs, travel to Cardiff City, who will be wearing their controversial new red home kit.

Blackpool, who missed out on promotion after losing the play-off final to West Ham, start their season away to Millwall while Steve Bruce's Hull City are at home to Brighton for their opening game.

Nottingham Forest and Bristol City, who both finished last season just above the relegation zone, face each other at the City Ground.

Peterborough, one place above Forest at the end of the last season, are away at Leicester and Crystal Palace host Watford.

The first visitors to Bolton will be Derby County, Blackburn's home campaign starts when they play Hull City in their second fixture, while Wolves will host Barnsley for their first home game.

The first meeting between two of the former Premier League sides is scheduled for 6 October when Blackburn play Wolves at Ewood Park. Bolton travel to Molineux on 23 October.

The Blackburn v Bolton local derby at Ewood Park has been pencilled in for 28 November.

The new season's fixtures are preceded by the first round of the League Cup, which was drawn last week and will take place in the week beginning 13 August.


Opening day - Saturday 18 August

Barnsley v Middlesbrough

Birmingham City v Charlton Athletic

Burnley v Bolton Wanderers

Cardiff City v Huddersfield Town

Crystal Palace v Watford

Derby County v Sheffield Wednesday

Hull City v Brighton & Hove Albion

Ipswich Town v Blackburn Rovers

Leeds United v Wolverhampton Wanderers

Leicester City v Peterborough United

Millwall v Blackpool

Nottingham Forest v Bristol City

Tuesday 21 August

Blackpool v Leeds United

Bolton Wanderers v Derby County

Brighton & Hove Albion v Cardiff City

Bristol City v Crystal Palace

Charlton Athletic v Leicester City

Huddersfield Town v Nottingham Forest

Middlesbrough v Burnley

Peterborough United v Millwall

Sheffield Wednesday v Birmingham City

Watford v Ipswich Town

Wolverhampton Wanderers v Barnsley

Wednesday 22 August

Blackburn Rovers v Hull City

Boxing Day - Wednesday 26 December

Barnsley v Birmingham City

Bolton Wanderers v Sheffield Wednesday

Brighton & Hove Albion v Millwall

Bristol City v Watford

Burnley v Derby County

Cardiff City v Crystal Palace

Charlton Athletic v Ipswich Town

Huddersfield Town v Blackpool

Hull City v Leicester City

Middlesbrough v Blackburn Rovers

Nottingham Forest v Leeds United

Wolverhampton Wanderers v Peterborough United

Final day of season - Saturday 4 May

Birmingham City v Blackburn Rovers

Bolton Wanderers v Blackpool

Brighton & Hove Albion v Wolverhampton Wanderers

Burnley v Ipswich Town

Charlton Athletic v Bristol City

Crystal Palace v Peterborough United

Derby County v Millwall

Huddersfield Town v Barnsley

Hull City v Cardiff City

Nottingham Forest v Leicester City

Sheffield Wednesday v Middlesbrough

Watford v Leeds United

Reproduced under licence from Football DataCo Limited. All rights reserved. Licence number NEWMEDIA/BBCINT/147806a. Copyright © and Database Copyright 2012 Football DataCo Ltd, The Football Association Premier League Ltd / The Football League Ltd / The Scottish Premier League Ltd / The Scottish Football League. All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system or transmitted in any way or by any means, (including photocopying, recording or storing it in any medium by electronic means), without the written permission of the copyright/database copyright owner. Applications for written permission should be addressed c/o Football DataCo Ltd, 30 Gloucester Place, London W1U 8PL.