Guernsey name ICC European Division One T20 squad

Guernsey have announced their Twenty20 squad for the forthcoming ICC European Division One Championship in Sussex.

The Channel Islands side are joined by Austria, Gibraltar, Italy, Norway and Sweden in Group A. 

Ollie Nightingale misses out as he will be representing Guernsey at swimming in the Island Games.

"We spent a long time discussing options and combinations before agreeing on this squad which is a very nice headache," said coach Nic Pothas.

"It is a fantastic blend of youth and experience, the younger players have done exactly what has been asked of them by going and performing for their clubs and have placed the more experienced guys under pressure to perform.

"Young Ollie Nightingale is notable absentee from this squad but purely by virtue of the fact that he will be at the Island Games during the competition, otherwise he would most definitely have been included.

"T20 is a very different game to the World Cricket League 50-over competition and we have taken that into account when picking this squad."

"Obviously there are going to be players who will be disappointed at being left out of the final 14 who will fly the flag for Guernsey at the ICC T20 event because they care so deeply but it's the reaction to the disappointment which will be monitored closely," added Pothas.


Jamie Nussbaumer (captain), Ross Kneller, Christopher Van Vliet, Lucas Barker, GH Smit, Thomas Kimber, Isaac Damarell, David Hooper, Timothy Ravenscroft (vice-captain), Matthew Stokes, Matthew Breban, Max Ellis, Jordon Martel, Jeremy Frith, Jason Martin, Adam Martel, Stuart Bisson, Lee (Ben) Ferbrache and Oliver Newey.