Cricket World Cup 2019: ECB begins venue selection process

The England and Wales Cricket Board has begun the process of selecting the 10 venues for the 2019 World Cup.

All nine Test grounds are set to host games, with one-day international venue Bristol a contender for the final spot.

Taunton, undergoing redevelopment by Somerset, is a possible alternative.

World Cup hosts

1975 - England

1979 - England

1983 - England

1987 - India and Pakistan

1992 - Australia and New Zealand

1996 - India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka

1999 - England

2003 - South Africa, Kenya and Zimbabwe

2007 - West Indies

2011 - Bangladesh, India and Sri Lanka

2015 - Australia and New Zealand

2019 - England

ECB chief executive David Collier said: "The signing of the host agreement with the International Cricket Council  enables us to enter into agreements with venues who wish to stage matches."

The last time England hosted the World Cup, in 1999, matches were hosted by all 18 counties plus Edinburgh, Dublin and Amstelveen in the Netherlands.

However, the 2019 incarnation will see fixtures played at 10 venues, nine of which are expected to be Lord's, The Oval, Edgbaston, Trent Bridge, Old Trafford, Headingley, Chester-le-Street, Cardiff and Southampton.

Bristol has already hosted ODIs, while Taunton has emerged as a potential rival with Somerset's redevelopment of their ground to the standard required for ODI cricket set to be completed by 2015.

Collier continued: "The organising team from the 2013 Champions Trophy, led by tournament director Steve Elworthy, will commence the preparation work for the World Cup immediately following the Champions Trophy final at Edgbaston on 23 June."

The 2019 tournament, awarded to England in 2006, is scheduled to involve 10 teams, four fewer than the 14 that will contest the 2015 event co-hosted by Australia and New Zealand.

Teams in the top eight of the ICC rankings will qualify automatically, with the remaining two places decided by a separate qualification competition.

Initially the ICC had planned to cut the 2015 event to its 10 full member teams, only to reverse the decision which will give the likes of Ireland, Scotland and the Netherlands a chance to take part.