BBC HomeExplore the BBC
This page has been archived and is no longer updated. Find out more about page archiving.

17 June 2014
Accessibility help
Text only

BBC Homepage

Contact Us

Like this page?
Send it to a friend!

Winners: Carleton Hobbs Bursary Award 2010 Winners
The 2010 Carleton Hobbs' bursaries have been awarded to:

CLAIRE HARRY (Manchester School of Theatre)
HENRY DEVAS (Rose Bruford College)
LEAH BROTHERHEAD (East 15 Acting School)

They will join the Radio Drama Company on Saturday 24th July 2010.

Six other finalists are this year's runners-up - and each of them will be cast as a freelance actor in one of our autumn/winter productions:

Pippa Bennett-Warner (RADA) Rebecca Humphries (LAMDA)
Naomi Sheldon (LAMDA)
John Bradley (Manchester School of Theatre)
Sam Jones (Royal Welsh College)
Joshua Maguire (RADA)

Twenty accredited Drama schools and colleges took part - a total of 80 students.

Chaired by Marc Beeby, Producer Radio Drama, the judges comprised Mary Peate, Amanda Howard, Kenneth Cranham and Rebecca Wilmshurst.

Hearty congratulations to all finalists and especially to Claire, Iain and Henry with whom we look forward to working in the summer.

Special Commendations:

For Best Team Exercise - 2 colleges share this year:

Drama Centre London

Special commendation for excellent prose sight-reading:

Name College Extract from
Camille Marmie Royal Scottish Academy THE HAPPY PRINCE
Joncie Elmore Manchester School of Theatre THREE MEN IN A BOAT
John Bradley Manchester School of Theatre OLIVER TWIST
Jack Heath Italia Conti OLIVER TWIST
Leah Brotherhead East 15 School of Acting A CHRISTMAS CAROL
Pippa Bennett-Warner RADA Jane Austen Letter

For Best solo in Shakespeare/or Classical Theatre category

Name College Character
Rebecca Humphries LAMDA Desdemona
Nicola Sian Arts Educational Portia
Joshua Maguire RADA Angelo

For other outstanding solo work

Name College Character   
Naomi Sheldon LAMDA Mrs Iger
Ben Dilloway LAMDA Joe
Rebecca Humphries LAMDA Nina
Sam Jones Royal Welsh College Man
Rebecca Tanwen Royal Welsh College Hester
Rosie Wyatt Royal Welsh College Emily
Eleanor Wyld Guildhall Donna
Claire Harry Manchester School of Theatre Housewife
Antonia Bellwood East 15 Maureen
Leah Brotherhead East 15 Amy
Kathryn MacColl East 15 Frankie
Alison Tennant Central Alison
Wesley Griffith Guildford School of Acting Nicolas
Bishanyia Vincent Oxford Rose
Pippa Bennett-Warner RADA Rena
Iain Batchelor RADA Unnamed Character
Izabella Urbanowicz RADA Dijana

For outstanding duologues...there were 11 nominations here

Name Extract from College
Jack Fishburn/Naomi Sheldon Citizenship
By Mark Ravenhill
Ben Dilloway/Rebecca Humphries No One Sees the Video
By Martin Crimp
Olivia Knowles/Nicola Daley Talent
By Victoria Wood
Royal Scottish Academy
Alexander Foley/Katy Wale Virgins
By John Retallack
Arts Ed
Pearl Mackie/Roddy Peters Noughts & Crosses
By Dominic Cooke
Jack Heath/Emily Wilden Hushabye Mountain
By Jonathan Harvey
Italia Conti
Henry Devas/Gillian Mackie Love and Money
By Dennis Kelly
Rose Bruford
John Bradley/Claire Harry Picture Man
By David Eldridge
Manchester School of Theatre
Wesley Griffiths/Lauren Terry Through the Wire
By Catherine Johnson
Guildford School of Acting

About the BBC | Help | Terms of Use | Privacy & Cookies Policy