West Dunbartonshire

Dumbarton Rock from the north shore of the River Clyde

West Dunbartonshire

West Dunbartonshire is one of Scotland’s 32 unitary council areas. Bordering the west of the City of Glasgow, it contains some of the city’s suburbs as well as commuter towns and villages. West Dunbartonshire also borders Argyll and Bute, Stirling, East Dunbartonshire and Renfrewshire.

The area was formed in 1996, merging the former Clydebank and Dumbarton (excluding Helensburgh) districts of Strathclyde Region. Although Clydebank is the largest town, Dumbarton is the administrative centre of the area.

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.