The National Wallace Monument near Stirling, set against hills


Stirling is one of Scotland’s 32 unitary council areas.

It was created in 1996, adopting the boundaries of the former Stirling district Central Region. Itt covers most of the former county of Stirling, excluding Falkirk, and the south-western part of the former county of Perth. The area borders Clackmannanshire, Falkirk, Perth and Kinross, Argyll and Bute, and both East and West Dunbartonshire.

The majority of the population of the area is located in its southeast corner, in the city of Stirling and in the surrounding lowland communities.

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.