St Fillans (Perth and Kinross)

Use the arrows to drag to fade between the old and new photographs

Black and white view of a formally laid out garden with trees and possibly vegetable beds. Between the beds are parallel paths leading down to a loch with hills behind. A woman in Victorian dress stands on one of the paths.
  • Photograph:D.T.K. Drummond
Colour view of an untended garden bounded by stone walls, set next to a narrow loch with tall hills in the background. Aside from a small hedge, some broken-down walls and three tall trees, the garden is given over to grass. To the left, a woman in a red anorak stands on an overgrown path.
  • Photograph: Colin Prior

Features of the area

Perth and Kinross Group

Perth and Kinross is one of Scotland’s 32 unitary council areas. It borders Aberdeenshire, Angus, Dundee City, Fife, Clackmannanshire, Stirling, Argyll and Bute and Highland. It has its administrative centre in Perth.

It corresponds broadly, but not exactly, with the former counties of Perthshire and Kinross-shire. These two counties operated under a joint county council from 1929 until 1975, when they merged into a single district of Tayside Region. The current council area was formed in 1996.

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.