Paisley Theatre (Renfrewshire)

Use the arrows to drag to fade between the old and new photographs

Black and white view along deserted street. A dilapidated theatre building to the left features a hoarding advertising the boy scouts of paisley gangshow of 1959. A raised railway line can be seen at the end of the street.
  • Photograph:Charles Souter
View along Smithhills Street in Paisley, showing the back of a late 20th Century shopping centre with a raised railway line behind..
  • Photograph: Joe Porter

Features of the area

Renfrewshire Group

Renfrewshire is one of Scotland’s 32 council areas.

Although Renfrewshire contains the traditional county town of Renfrew, from which its name derives, Paisley is the administrative centre and main settlement.

Renfrewshire is the successor of the former Renfrew District. It covers a slightly smaller area than its predecessor. Some of the district, including the towns of Barrhead, Neilston and Uplawmoor were transferred to the new East Renfrewshire area when Strathclyde Region was partitioned in 1996.

Renfrewshire borders Glasgow, North Ayrshire, East Renfrewshire, Inverclyde and West Dunbartonshire.

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.