North Lanarkshire

The Roman Bridge at Motherwell and its clear reflection mirrored in the river below

North Lanarkshire

North Lanarkshire is one of Scotland’s 32 unitary council areas. It borders City of Glasgow , Stirling, Falkirk, East Dunbartonshire, West Lothian and South Lanarkshire.

The council covers parts of the former counties of Lanarkshire, Dunbartonshire, and Stirlingshire. It was formed in 1996, largely from the Cumbernauld and Kilsyth, Motherwell and Monklands districts of Strathclyde Region.

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.