The Pentland Hills with the outskirts of Edinburgh in the background


Midlothian is one of Scotland’s 32 unitary council areas. It borders the Scottish Borders, East Lothian and the City of Edinburgh council areas.

Midlothian Council area was created in 1996, adopting the boundaries of the then Midlothian district of Lothian region.

BBC navigation

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.