Lochinver (Highland)

Use the arrows to drag to fade between the old and new photographs

Black and white view of a fishing boat berthed at a simple harbour. The burned out shell of a large house stands in the background.
  • Photograph:George Hendry
Colour view across water to a harbour, where a small fishing boat is tied up. The harbour features a number of industrial-scale modern buildings. The large house to the left of frame has been restored to use.
  • Photograph: Andy Stringer

Highland Group

Highland is one of Scotland’s 32 unitary council areas. It is the largest local government area in both Scotland and the United Kingdom as a whole.

The area was created as a two-tier region in 1975 with Highland Region being divided into eight districts, Badenoch and Strathspey, Caithness, Inverness, Lochaber, Nairn, Ross and Cromarty, Skye and Lochalsh and Sutherland.

In 1996, Highland Regional Council and the district councils were wound up and their functions were transferred to a new Highland Council. It borders Moray, Aberdeenshire, Perth and Kinross, and Argyll and Bute.

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.