Kirkcaldy (Fife)

Use the arrows to drag to fade between the old and new photographs

Black and white view of extensive factory building, set on a slope leading down to a beach at the bottom left of frame.
  • Photograph:Unknown
Colour view of open, grassy slope with unmarked roads at the top and bottom. Behind are some industrial buildings, set among trees, with a church spire and hills in the distance.
  • Photograph: Dael Wilson

Fife Group

Fife is one of Scotland’s 32 unitary council areas. It lies between the Firth of Tay and the Firth of Forth, and borders Perth and Kinross and Clackmannanshire.

Prior to 1996, the area was governed under a two-tier system, with a local government region divided into three districts – Dunfermline, Kirkcaldy and North-East Fife.

Fife is Scotland's third largest local authority area by population. Almost a third of the population live in the three principal towns of Dunfermline, Kirkcaldy and Glenrothes.

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.