Hawick (Scottish Borders)

Use the arrows to drag to fade between the old and new photographs

Black and white view of Atheenic Mill buildings and chimney stack, set on a largely grassy slope. There are two short terraces of houses by the mill buildings and a large detached house higher uphill.
  • Photograph:Unknown

A rephotograph of this landscape has not yet been taken. Why not take your own present-day image of this view?

Have a look at our guide for tips on how to take successful rephotography images. When you have an image to send us, then upload it here.

Scottish Borders Group

The Scottish Borders is one of Scotland’s 32 unitary council areas. It is bordered by Dumfries and Galloway, South Lanarkshire, West Lothian, City of Edinburgh, East Lothian, and Midlothian, as well as Northumberland and Cumbria in. The administrative centre of the area is Newtown St. Boswells.

Historically, the name Scottish Borders designated the entire border region of southern Scotland and, together with neighbouring areas of England, was part of the historical Borders region.

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.