East Renfrewshire

Wind turbines at Whitelee Windfarm on Eaglesham Moor.

East Renfrewshire

East Renfrewshire is one of Scotland’s 32 unitary council areas. Until 1975 it formed part of the county of Renfrewshire. The East Renfrewshire local authority was formed in 1996, covering the same area as what was then Eastwood district, with the addition of Barrhead, which came from Renfrew district.

It borders North Ayrshire, East Ayrshire, Renfrewshire, South Lanarkshire and the City of Glasgow.

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.