East Lothian

Sand and rocks ar North Berwick beach, with the Bass Rock in the background

East Lothian

East Lothian is one of Scotland’s 32 unitary council areas. It borders the City of Edinburgh, Scottish Borders and Midlothian, and has Haddington as its administrative centre.

The council area was created in 1996 with the same boundaries as the East Lothian district of the then Lothian region.

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.