Dumfries and Galloway

A solitary, small boat lies anchored in the bay at Garlieston with the village behind

Dumfries and Galloway

Dumfries and Galloway is one of Scotland’s 32 unitary council areas. It was created in 1975 by uniting the historic region of Galloway to the County of Dumfries for the purpose of council administration.

To the north, the council borders South Ayrshire, East Ayrshire and South Lanarkshire; in the east Scottish Borders; and to the south the county of Cumbria in England.

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.