Bainsford (Falkirk)

Use the arrows to drag to fade between the old and new photographs

Black and white view from canal side showing a barge passing under an open bascule bridge.
  • Photograph:Unknown
Colour view from tow-path showing a bus crossing a bridge over the canal. Part of a lock-gate, labelled number five, can be seen in the foreground.
  • Photograph: J Dormer

Features of the area

Falkirk Group

Falkirk is one of Scotland’s 32 unitary council areas. It borders North Lanarkshire to the south west, Stirling to the north west, West Lothian to the south east and the Firth of Forth to the north east.

The council area was formed in 1996 with the exact boundaries of Falkirk District Prior to 1975 the majority of the council area was part of the county of Stirlingshire and a small part, Bo'ness and Blackness, was part of the former county of West Lothian.

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.