An electricity pylon standing in flat fields in golden, early evening light


Angus is one of Scotland’s 32 unitary council areas. It was historically a county until 1975 when it became a district of Tayside Region. In 1996, when two-tier local government was abolished, Angus was established as a unitary authority.

The council area borders Aberdeenshire, Perth and Kinross and Dundee City.

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.