Scotland's History Scotland United The Treaty of York

Treaty of York – 1237

The Adobe Flash player and Javascript are required in order to view a video which appears on this page. You may wish to download the Adobe Flash player.

In 1237 Alexander II signs the Treaty of York with Henry III of England. The treaty officially defined the border bewteen the two kingdoms - which exists to this day with the exception of Berwick-Upon-Tweed (annexed by England in 1482). Video: A history of Scotland: Hammers of the Scots.

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.