BBC HomeExplore the BBC
This page has been archived and is no longer updated. Find out more about page archiving.

17 October 2014
European Environmental Inequalities

BBC Homepage


Scotland Education



Comparison Exercise

About the exam
About the site

Contact Us

EEI/ Coasts
Coasts: The Camargue
The Camargue is a triangular delta in the south of France covering 140,000 hectares. It's made up of wetlands, pastures, dunes and salt flats.
In 1927 85,000 hectares of the Camargue was designated as a nature reserve and in 1970 the area was granted National Park status.
The salt marshes in the southeast corner of the Camargue, near Salin-de-Giraud, are a major centre for salt production, producing up to 15,000 tons a day at harvest-time.
There are three major towns in the Camargue - Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer (population 2,000), Aigues Mortes (population 6,000) and Arles (population 55,000). Each year the Camargue is visited by over one million tourists, providing a major source of income, but causing environmental problems too.
Many of the tourists come to see the unique flora and fauna of the national park, including the famous Camargue horses, and the flamingos which are the symbol of the Camargue National Park

Map of Camargue

About the BBC | Help | Terms of Use | Privacy & Cookies Policy