Our World


Please note: There is a short delay when playing the audio clips.

There are four seasons.

Il y a quatre saisons. - There are four seasons.

le printemps - the spring

l’été - the summer

l’automne - the autumn

l’hiver - the winter

Can you see that three of the seasons have the article l’ rather than le or la? That’s because they start with a vowel (h is silent in French so the first sound is a vowel). They are all masculine nouns.

To say ‘in summer, winter, autumn’, you take off the article (le/la/l’) and add en.

en été - in summer

en automne - in autumn

en hiver - in winter

BUT you say AU printemps.

au printemps - in spring

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.