Fact file

Please note: There is a short delay when playing the audio clips.

What do you know about France?

France - France

Here are some facts!

La France a des frontières avec la Belgique, le Luxembourg, l’Allemagne, la Suisse, l’Italie, Monaco, l’Espagne et l’Andorre. - France has borders with Belgium, Luxembourg, Germany, Switzerland, Italy, Monaco, Spain and Andorra.

La capitale de la France est Paris. - The capital of France is Paris

Il y a 101 départements - There are 101 departments (departments are like the UK's counties)

In France, the stretch of water between England and France is called ‘La Manche’. This also means ‘the sleeve’!

The French call it this because of the Channel’s long, thin shape like the sleeve of your jumper.

La Manche - The Channel

La manche de mon pull - The sleeve of my jumper

Everyone in France speaks French, but there are different dialects.

Le langage est le français. - The language is French.

En Bretagne, ils parlent breton. - In Brittany (North-West of France), they speak Breton.

En Provence, ils parlent provençale. - In Provence (South-East of France), they speak Provençale.

En Alsace, ils parlent alsacien. - In Alsace (North-East of France), they speak Alsacien.

La France est une république. - France is a replublic.

Sa monnaie est l'Euro. - Its currency is the Euro.

Son drapeau a trois couleurs: bleu, blanc, rouge. - Its flag has three colours: blue, white, red.

DID YOU KNOW…France’s motto is liberté, égalité, fraternité.

liberté, égalité, fraternité - freedom, equality, brotherhood