Bitesize has changed! We're updating subjects as fast as we can. Visit our new site to find Bitesize guides and clips - and tell us what you think!


Exploring our solar system

The Solar System

Solar systems consist of:

  • a star
  • planets and dwarf planets in orbit around the star
  • satellites (moons) in orbit around most of the planets
  • comets and asteroids in orbit around the Sun.

The star in our solar system is the Sun. Eight planets orbit the Sun, including the Earth, and smaller dwarf planets such as Pluto, Ceres and Eris.

The Solar System showing from left to right from the Sun - Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune and Pluto

You need to know the position of the planets in order from the Sun. Starting with the closest to the sun, the order is:

  • Mercury
  • Venus
  • Earth
  • Mars
  • Jupiter
  • Saturn
  • Uranus
  • Neptune

It may help to remember My Very Easy Method Just Speeds Up Naming.

Back to Energy resources index

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.