Bitesize has changed! We're updating subjects as fast as we can. Visit our new site to find Bitesize guides and clips - and tell us what you think!



The world is divided into ten major ecosystems called biomes. Watch the video to see what they are.


In order to see this content you need to have both Javascript enabled and Flash installed. Visit BBC Webwise for full instructions

Key points

  • Ecosystems can be small scale like a pond or a large scale like a tropical rainforest.
  • The world is divided into major ecosystems called biomes. They include deciduous and coniferous forest, rainforest, desert, savannah and tundra.
  • They are defined by their climate, geology, soils and vegetation.

All Geography videos

Ecosystems -the living world index

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.