Bitesize has changed! We're updating subjects as fast as we can. Visit our new site to find Bitesize guides and clips - and tell us what you think!

Business Studies


Product life cycle

The product life cycle diagram shows that four stages exist in the ‘working life’ of most products.

Diagram showing the launch, growth, maturity and decline of a product.

Product life cycle diagram

These are:

  1. Launch
  2. Growth
  3. Maturity
  4. Decline

In the launch and growth stages sales rise. In the maturity stage, revenues flatten out.

Getting a product known beyond the launch stage usually requires costly promotion activity.

At some point sales begin to decline and the business has to decide whether to withdraw the item or use an extension strategy to bolster sales. Extension strategies include updating packaging, adding extra features or lowering price.

Back to Marketing index

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.