BBC HomeExplore the BBC
This page has been archived and is no longer updated. Find out more about page archiving.

20 October 2014
Citizen X Homepage

BBC Homepage
BBC Schools
CitizenX Home
Being a Citizen
Local Citizen
National Citizen
International Citizen
Message board
KS3 Bitesize
Schools age 11-16
World Class

Contact Us

EU, UN & Commonwealth
EU, UN & the Commonwealth topic indexGet the Lowdown index


Rights & Responsibilities


Local Democracy

Community Action


Government & Parliament

Global Community

EU, UN & Commonwealth
  • United Nations
  • European Union
  • Commonwealth

  • United Nations
    The Basics | More Information | Web Links
    The Structure of the UN

    The UN is made up of different agencies - or departments - which deal with all sorts of things, such as peacekeeping, helping the poor, looking after refugees and the environment, ensuring workers' and childrens' rights etc.

    The agencies include:

    • The UN Environment Programme (UNEP)
    • UN Development Programme (UNDP)
    • UN Conference on Trade and Development
    • UN programme on HIV/AIDS
    • UN Children's Fund (UNICEF)
    • Office of the UN Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR)
    • World Health Organisation (WHO)

    What is the UN Security Council?

    Real power rests with the Security Council, a smaller group of countries that is mainly responsible for peace and security.

    There are fifteen council members. Five of them are permanent - the United States, the UK, France, the Russian Federation and China. The other ten are elected by the General Assembly for terms of two years.

    The five permanent members have the right to veto. This means they can say no to anything even if the other countries have agreed to it.

    Child Labour Case Study

    About the BBC | Help | Terms of Use | Privacy & Cookies Policy