BBC HomeExplore the BBC
This page has been archived and is no longer updated. Find out more about page archiving.

Accessibility help
Text only
BBC Homepage
BBC Radio
TodayBBC Radio 4

Listen Again
Latest Reports
Interview of the Week
About Today
Today at 50
Message Board
Contact Today

Contact Us

Like this page?
Send it to a friend!

Weekdays 6-9am and Saturdays 7-9am How to listen to Today
Latest Reports

Stirling Prize for Architecture


The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) has announced the shortlist for this year's Stirling Prize for architecture.

Gateshead Millennium Bridge

The Gateshead Millennium Bridge, last year's winner of the Stirling Prize.


The BBC is not responsible for the content of external websites

CLICK HERE to see enlarged pictures of the shortlisted buildings.

Click on the PICTURE GALLERY link in the right-hand column of this page to see enlarged pictures of the 6 finalists.

The Stirling Prize jury will visit all six finalists and announce the official winner on October 12.

We invited you to vote for your favourite building out of the six nominations in the Today's unofficial listener poll.  The vote is now closed.  Listen again to your chosen winner as well as the official winner.

Every year RIBA and The Architects' Journal award the accolade to the architects responsible for designing the building which "made the greatest contribution to British architecture in the past year".


Building 1: Tiree Shelter, Tiree, Scotland.
Designed by Sutherland Hussey Architects with Jake Harvey, Donald Urquhart, Glen Onwin and Sandra Kennedy.

Building 2: Plymouth Theatre Royal Production Centre, Neptune Park, Plymouth.
Designed by Ian Ritchie Architects.

Building 3: BedZed, Wallington, Surrey.
Designed by Bill Dunster Architects.

Building 4: 30 Finsbury Square, London EC2.
Designed by Eric Parry Architects.

Building 5: Great Court at the British Museum, London WC1.
Designed by Foster and Partners.

Building 6: Laban, Deptford, London SE8.
Designed by Herzog & de Meuron.

Last year's winner, the Gateshead Millennium Bridge, secured the £20,000 prize for its designers, Wilkinson Eyre. Other previous winners include Peckham Library and the NatWest Media Centre.

You can see pictures of this year's shortlist by clicking on the PICTURE GALLERY link in the right-hand column of this page.

Back to Reports Homepage

Latest Reports

Back to Latest Reports Homepage

Audio Archive
Missed a programme? Or would you like to listen again?
Try last 7 days below or visit the Audio Archive page:


Today | Listen Again | Latest Reports | Interview of the Week | About Today | Today at 50 | Have Your Say | Contact Today

About the BBC | Help | Terms of Use | Privacy & Cookies Policy