Explore the BBC
Today Programme Report - Text Only Version
BBC Radio 4
Print This Page

Back to HTML version

Thursday 11th September 2003

Stirling Prize for Architecture

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) has announced the shortlist for this year's Stirling Prize for architecture.

Click on the PICTURE GALLERY link in the right-hand column of this page to see enlarged pictures of the 6 finalists.

The Stirling Prize jury will visit all six finalists and announce the official winner on October 12.

We invited you to vote for your favourite building out of the six nominations in the Today's unofficial listener poll.  The vote is now closed.  Listen again to your chosen winner as well as the official winner.

Every year RIBA and The Architects' Journal award the accolade to the architects responsible for designing the building which "made the greatest contribution to British architecture in the past year".


Building 1: Tiree Shelter, Tiree, Scotland.
Designed by Sutherland Hussey Architects with Jake Harvey, Donald Urquhart, Glen Onwin and Sandra Kennedy.

Building 2: Plymouth Theatre Royal Production Centre, Neptune Park, Plymouth.
Designed by Ian Ritchie Architects.

Building 3: BedZed, Wallington, Surrey.
Designed by Bill Dunster Architects.

Building 4: 30 Finsbury Square, London EC2.
Designed by Eric Parry Architects.

Building 5: Great Court at the British Museum, London WC1.
Designed by Foster and Partners.

Building 6: Laban, Deptford, London SE8.
Designed by Herzog & de Meuron.

Last year's winner, the Gateshead Millennium Bridge, secured the £20,000 prize for its designers, Wilkinson Eyre. Other previous winners include Peckham Library and the NatWest Media Centre.

You can see pictures of this year's shortlist by clicking on the PICTURE GALLERY link in the right-hand column of this page.

The BBC is not responsible for external websites

About the BBC | Help | Terms of Use | Privacy & Cookies Policy