BBC HomeExplore the BBC
This page has been archived and is no longer updated. Find out more about page archiving.

Accessibility help
Text only
BBC Homepage
BBC Music
BBC Radio 3

Radio 3

Contact Us

Like this page?
Send it to a friend!

The BBC Radio 3 Awards for World Music The BBC Radio 3 Awards for World Music
The Listeners Award
One of the main awards has been decided by you the listeners. The top four artists are listed below. And the winner is : Afro Celt Sound System. Click on the icon to hear a track and read a profile.

Afro Celt Sound SystemListen
La Bottine SourianteListen
Manu ChaoListen
Orchestra BaobabListen

Click on the names below to read some of the comments by other listeners about their own choices. See below for the names of the winners in our prize CD draw.

The Listeners Award
The nominations:
Abdullah Chhadeh
Afro Celt Sound System
Anoushka Shankar
Baaba Maal
The Boat Band
Bob Brozman
Cachaito Lopez
Caetano Veloso
Cheb Mami
Coco Mbsassi
Gabi Lunca
Goran Bregovic
Habib Koité
Jocelyn Pook
Kathryn Tickell
Kimmo Pohjonen
La Bottine Souriante
La Volée d'Castors
Lila Downs
Manu Chao
Mercedes Peón
Momo Wandel Soumah
Nitin Sawhney
Orchestra Baobab
Papa Noel
Peter Gabriel
Prem Joshua
Rachid Taha
Radio Tarifa
Rokia Traoré
Sekou Keita
Sussan Deyhim
Taraf de Haidouks
Tibetan Institute
Trilok Gurtu
Vera Bila
Here are the winners of our prize draw. Each of the following will receive a CD by one of the shortlisted artists for the Radio 3 Awards for World Music:

Hilary Booth
Neil Carr
Gary Carey
Nick Hallam
Roger Hewitt
Jane Noble
Ian Smith
Richard Webb
Anne Weight
Kevin Wiremu

About the BBC | Help | Terms of Use | Privacy & Cookies Policy