[an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive]

BBC - (none) - Performance on 3 - BBC Radio 3 Awards for World Music 2008 [an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive]
BBC HomeExplore the BBC
This page was last updated in April 2008We've left it here for reference.More information

3 October 2014
Accessibility help
Text only

BBC Homepage

Contact Us

Like this page?
Send it to a friend!


11 April 2008

BBC Radio 3 Awards for World Music 2008

Friday 11 April 2008 19:00-20:45 (Radio 3)

Presented by Suzy Klein. Mary Ann Kennedy hosts an evening at Dingwall's in London's Camden Town to announce the winners of this year's awards. With performances from a previous winner, Indian classical singer Kaushiki Chakrabarty, and from one of this year's nominees, Algerian rai-rocker Rachid Taha.

It also marks the launch of the Audience Award, a public vote from all the 30 nominated artists, the winner of which will be invited to appear at the Winners' Concert in July.
Awards for World Music - full details


1 hour 45 minutes


Presented by Mary Ann Kennedy
Recorded Thursday 10 April 2008 at Dingwall's, Camden, London

Kaushiki: Song (8.00)
Kaushiki Chakrabarty (vocals); Sanju Sahai (tabla); Ajoy Joglekar (harmonium); Ranjana Ghatak (tanpura)
Kaushiki won the 2005 Award for World Music in the Asia/Pacific category

Winners in bold:

Album of the Year; introduced by Rita Ray (3.22)
Andy Palacio and the Garifuna Collective: Watina (Stonetree/Cumbancha)
Orchestra Baobab: Made in Dakar (World Circuit)
Tinariwen: Aman Iman - Water Is Life (Independiente)
Bassekou Kouyate & ngoni ba - Segu Blue (Out Here)

Bassekou Kouyate & Amy Sacko: Bassekou (0.50)
Recorded specially for this occasion at Bassekou's home in Mali

Europe, introduced by DJ Ritu (2.36)
Manu Chao; Ojos de Brujo; Titi Robin; Son de la Frontera

Award accepted by Paco de Amparo, Manuel Flores and Raul Rodriguez of Son de la Frontera

Son de la Frontera performance on video (1.08)
album: Cal (Nuevos Medios)

Culture Crossing, introduced by Rita Ray (3.21)
Balkan Beat Box; Bole 2 Harlem; The Idan Raichel Project; Justin Adams & Juldeh Camara

Justin Adams & Juldeh Camara:
Sanakubay (4.00)
Ngamen (5.00)
Justin Adams (guitar); Juldeh Camara (vocals/ritti one stringed fiddle/gologo lute); Salah Dawson Miller (percussion)

Americas, introduced by Robin Denselow (3.22)
Andy Palacio & the Garifuna Collective; Bajofondo; Hazmat Modine; Maria Rita

Tribute film to Andy Palacio (2.58)
Featuring the track Watina from the album of the same name

Africa, introduced by Rita Ray (3.42)
Bassekou Kouyate & ngoni ba; Tinariwen; Simphiwe Dana; Toumani Diabate & the Symmetric Orchestra

Award accepted by Bassekou Kouyate

Bassekou Kouyate & ngoni ba: Bassekou (1.20)
Taken from Later.

Newcomer, introduced by Robin Denselow (2.50)
Balkan Beat Box; Bassekou Kouyate & ngoni ba; Mayra Andrade; Vieux Farka Toure

Mayra Andrade:
Dimokransa (4.00)
Mana (4.00)
Mayra Andrade (vocals/guitar/fero); Nelson Ferreira (guitar)

World Shaker, introduced by Simon Broughton (2.41)

Award accepted by Francis Falceto, creator of the Ethiopiques series (released by Buda Musique)

Club Global, introduced by Reda El Mawy (3.11)
Bajofondo; Balkan Beat Box; Gaudi vs Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan; Transglobal Underground

Transglobal Underground accept their award by video
Transglobal Underground: Dancehall Operator (0.30)
Appears on the album Moonshout (Mule Satellite Recordings)

Asia Pacific, introduced by DJ Ritu (3.08)
Sa Dingding; Anoushka Shankar & Karsh Kale; Huun-Huur-Tu; Faiz Ali Faiz

Award accepted by Sa Dingding

Sa Dingding: Mama Tien Na (0.52)
Taken from the album Alive (Wrasse Records)

Middle East and North Africa, introduced by Reda El Mawy (2.55)
The Idan Raichel Project; Malouma; Nass El Ghiwane; Rachid Taha

Rachid Taha and his manager Rikki Stein accept the award from Lucinda Strummer

Rachid Taha:
Ecoute Moi Camarade (6.44)
Ya Rayah (7.00)
Rock El Casbah (4.15)
Rachid Taha (vocals); Guillaume Rossel (drums); Yves Aquizerate (keyboards); Stephane Bertin (guitar); Christian Banet (bass); Hakim Hamadouche (mandolute/backing vocals); Rachid Belgacem (percussion)

Biographies, recording details and links for all the nominated artists can be found here

About the BBC | Help | Terms of Use | Privacy & Cookies Policy