[an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive]

BBC - (none) - Mixing It - 29 April 2005 [an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive]
BBC HomeExplore the BBC
This page was last updated in February 2007We've left it here for reference.More information

3 October 2014
Accessibility help
Text only

BBC Homepage

Contact Us

Like this page?
Send it to a friend!


29 April 2005

Friday 29 April 2005 22:15-23:30 (Radio 3)

Mark Russell and Robert Sandall introduce an exclusive session by Rothko, the project of bassist Mark Beazley, in collaboration with the English musician and composer Roger Eno.


1 hour 15 minutes



Presented by Mark Russell and Robert Sandall
Produced by Felix Carey
Factsheet compiled by Sam Hickling

Tel. 020 7765 4661
Fax. 020 7765 4378
e-mail mixing.it@bbc.co.uk

Friday 29 April 2005, 10:15pm

Nitin Sawhney: Dead Man (4.17)
This is from the seventh studio album by Nitin Sawhney, who as well as being a flamenco guitarist and film soundtrack composer, has written for the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra and been a member of the James Taylor Quartet.
Vocals on this track are by Fink, Jayanta Bose and Reena Bhardwaj
album: Philtre
V2 Records VVR1031278

Aleatory Grammar: hkg (6.56)
Aleatory Grammar is the duo of Danish composer/musician/label boss Jakob Draminsky Højmark (Laptop Max/MSP) and American trumpeter (now living in Barcelona) Mark Cunningham.
Live studio improvisation at Semàfor dels Desmaparats, Barcelona, 2004
album: abcedminded
Spookysound vs Multisound SpMs001

Rothko and Roger Eno: Separate (6.33)
Rothko: Mark Beazley (bass guitar); Michael Donnelly (bass guitar); Ben Page (Nord synth/bowed glockenspiel) with Roger Eno (piano/midi synth with Proteus sound module/minidisk backings)
Recorded Friday 15 April 2005 in BBC Maida Vale Studio 4

Jaga (Jazzist): All I know is tonight (7.40)
Jaga are Harald Frødland (guitars/effects); Andreas Mjøs (guitars/vibes/omnichord/percussion/glockenspiel); Martin Horntveth (drums/percussion/gong/vocals); Ketil Vestrum Einarsen (flute/sax/wind controller); Lars Horntveth (guitars/clarinet/sax/keyboards/lap steel/percussion/tamboura/vocals); Even Ormestad (bass/SH-101/baritone guitar/piano/marimba); Lars Wabø (trombone/euphonium); Mathias Eick (trumpet/double bass/vibes/keyboards/sonlina strings/vocals); Line Horntveth (tuba/percussion/vocals); Andreas Hessen Schei (keyboards/vocals)
album: What We Must
Ninja Tune ZENCD103

Hanne Hukkelberg: Cast Anchor (4.07)
Hanne Hukkelberg (vocals/guitar/keyboards/mouth rhythms/water/bottles/wine glasses); Kåre (bass clarinet/keys/programming); Jorgen Munkeby (bass clarinet/clarinet); Erland Dahlen (drums); Jorn Raknes (lap steel)
EP: Cast Anchor
The Leaf Label DOCK42CD

Shining: Perdurabo (3.00)
Staying with the Norwegian theme, Shining consists of multi instrumentalist and Jaga Jazzist member Jørgen Munkeby, bass player Aslak Hartberg of Norwegian hip-hop outfit Klovner I Kamp and Bugge Wesseltoft's touring band, drummer Torstein Lofthus, and keyboard player, former Jaga member and one half of Susana and the Magical Orchestra Morten Qvenild. The album is produced by Kåre Chr. Vestrheim, who also produced the Hanne Hukkelberg record.
album: In the kingdom of kitsch you will be a monster
Rune Grammofon RCD2944

Mukta: Sunset at Sonha (4.40)
Mukta was formed in 1994 by Simon Mary, a bass player and Indian music enthusiast from Nantes in France. In 2003 he travelled to India and bonded with sarod master Biswajit Roy Chowdury. He returned a month later with his band, and that visit led to these recordings, made with local musicians.
Jean Chevalier (drums/bass clarinet/gong/percussion); Olivier Congar (congas/bongos/shekere/batas/percussion); Michel Guay (sitar/vocals); Simon Mary (bass); Geoffroy Tamisier (trumpet); Pascal Vandenbulcke (flute) with Biswajit Roy Chowdury (sarod); Shailendra Kumar (bansuri); Yogesh Dutt Dwary (tempura)
Recorded in New Delhi, November 2003
album: Haveli
Un Music 8 2564 61761-2

Mahogany Throttle: Having Trouble Walking (2.46)
Formerly a nine-piece, Mahogany Throttle, named after something they read in an old railroad magazine, are now just Brent Allyn Budsberg (electric/acoustic bass), John C Gleisner III (drums) and David J White (electric/acoustic guitar). Here they are joined by Matt Griffin on mellotron.
album: Traverse
Soutrane Recording Company SRC1013

Kevin Blechdom: There are other people; Johnny (3.34)
Kevin Blechdom was with the Californian duo Blectum from Blechdom, but now works as a solo artist in Berlin.
album: Eat my heart out
Chicks on Speed Records COSR022CD, Tr.14-15
Chicks on Speed Records, Lindwurmstrasse 71, D-80337 München, Germany

Rothko/Roger Eno: Cylinder; Slowing Up (12.00)
Rothko: Mark Beazley (bass guitar); Michael Donnelly (bass guitar); Ben Page (Nord synth/djembe on Slowing Up) with Roger Eno (piano/midi synth with Proteus sound module/minidisk backings/celeste on Slowing Up)
Recorded Friday 15 April 2005 in BBC Maida Vale Studio 4

Fog: Can You Believe It? (2.55)
Fog is Andrew Broder with Jeremy Ylvisaker, Mark Erickson, Martin Dosh, Michael Lewis and Tim Glenn. Trumpet on this track by Greg Lewis
album: 10th Avenue Freakout
Lex Records lex033cd
Lex Records, PO Box 34207, London NW5 1EF

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

About the BBC | Help | Terms of Use | Privacy & Cookies Policy