[an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive]

BBC - (none) - Mixing It - 5 May 2006 [an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive]
BBC HomeExplore the BBC
This page was last updated in February 2007We've left it here for reference.More information

3 October 2014
Accessibility help
Text only

BBC Homepage

Contact Us

Like this page?
Send it to a friend!


5 May 2006

Friday 5 May 2006 22:15-23:30 (Radio 3)

Robert Sandall and Mark Russell present a unique mix of musical styles and influences.


1 hour 15 minutes



Presented by Mark Russell and Robert Sandall
Produced by Felix Carey
Factsheet compiled by Sam Hickling

Tel. 020 7765 4661
Fax. 020 7765 4378
e-mail mixing.it@bbc.co.uk

Friday 5 May 2006, 10:15pm

Señor Coconut and his Orchestra: Coconut AM feat. Burnt Friedman and Mouse on Mars; The Madmen feat. Haruomi Hosono (4.11)
Having previously produced an album of Kraftwerk cover versions, Chile-based German producer Uwe Schmidt (aka Atom Heart) now turns his attention to the Yellow Magic Orchestra: the 1970s/80s trio of Ryuichi Sakamoto, Haruomi Hosono and Yukihiro Takahashi. Haruomi Hosono appears on the second of these two tracks, alongside Venezuelan singer Argenis Brito, while the first track features Uwe Schmidt's Flanger partner Burnt Friedman, and fellow German duo Mouse on Mars.
album: Yellow Fever
Essay Recordings AY CD 11

Takagi Masakatsu: j.f.p. (4.13)
Takagi Masakatsu from Kyoto in Japan is a classically trained pianist and multi-media artist who exhibits all over the world. This album, in fact, comes as a CD and DVD dual package to showcase his visual work.
album: Journal for People
Carpark Records CAK32

Thomas Strønen: Ingenious Pursuits (5.15)
Thomas Strønen (beatable items/live electronic treatments/music) is one of Norway's most in-demand drummers, working with the likes of Food, Humcrush, Parish and the Maria Kannegaard Trio. This is from his first solo album.
Recorded with no overdubs or pre-programming at Oslo Nye by Simen Scharning
album: Pohlitz
Rune Grammofon RCD2051

Planningtorock: Changes (3.37)
Planningtorock is the one-woman show of Janine Rostron, originally from Bolton, Lancs. but now living in Berlin, and previously heard on Mixing It performing with Kevin Blechdom and Fiery Furnaces at the ICA last October.
album: Have It All
Chicks on Speed Records COSR32CD

Adem: Last transmission from the lost mission (3.06)
Adem is Adem Ilhan, one third of the group Fridge (with Kieran Hebden and Sam Jeffers). It's also the name of his quartet which features Emma Smith, Alex Thomas and Emma Macfarlane.
album: Love and other planets
Domino Recordings WIGCD160

Alec Finlay and Chris Watson: Siren (5.29)
This collaboration between artist Alec Finlay and sound recordist Chris Watson was recorded in Cullercoats Harbour, Tyneside on 22 August 2005. It features the singing of Norwegian vocalist Maria Jardardottir, and special thanks must also be made to Robert Oliver, chief helmsman for the local RNLI, who did the rowing.
album: Siren
Bookscapes 2006

Carla Bozulich: P**sing (6.01)
This is the first Constellation album to feature an artist from outside Montréal. The artist in question is Los Angeles-based Carla Bozulich, vocal extremist and improviser. She recorded this at Montréal's famous Hotel2Tango studio with members of Godspeed You! Black Emperor and associated bands.
This is a cover version of a track by the band Low.
Carla Bozulich (vocals/samples); Shahzad Ismaily (drums/vocals/guitar/Casio); Jessica Moss (violin); Nadia Moss (organ); Thierry Amar (contrabass); Ian Ilavsky (electric bass); Erika Anderson (electric guitar); Ezra Buchla (violas); Corey Fogel (drums)
album: Evangelista
Constellation CST041-2

Aphex Twin: Fenix Funk 5 (4.59)
Throughout last year, Richard D James, recording mainly as AFX, released the Analord series: 11 vinyl-only releases containing 41 tracks. Now he has put 11 of these tracks on to a CD, and this is just one of the two tracks on the album to bear his more well-known Aphex Twin moniker.
album: Chosen Lords
Rephlex CAT 173 CD
Originally on Analord 10a
Click here for a review of this album

Scatter: She Moves Through the Fayre (10.29)
Scatter are a Glasgow-based fluid collective of up to nineteen musicians led by multi-instrumentalist Chris Hladowski. The vocalist on this track is Hanna Tuulikki.
album: The Mountain Announces
Blank Tapes BLANK001CD

Volcano the Bear: The Merry Potter (5.05)
This latest release from Volcano the Bear is a double CD and double vinyl album.
album: Classic Erasmus Fusion
Beta-Lactam Ring Records mt092a

Ammoncontact featuring Sach: Into 777 (2.13)
Ammoncontact is the duo of Fabian Ammon and Carlos Niño, who operate with one foot in Los Angeles' jazz community, and another in its alternative hip hop community. On this new album they have collaborated with a number of LA musicians, including Dwight Trible and Kamau Daaood. This track features Sach, formerly with LA group the Nonce.
album: With Voices
Ninja Tune ZENCD125

Lackthereof: Abstinent Dry Sex (4.00)
Lackthereof is the side project of Danny Seim from Portland, Oregon, who also plays with Menomena. He recorded this album, his seventh, in his basement with Justin (electric guitar) and Brent (piano).
album: Christian the Christian
Filmguerrero Fg 23

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

About the BBC | Help | Terms of Use | Privacy & Cookies Policy