[an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive]

BBC - (none) - Mixing It - 13 May 2005 [an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive]
BBC HomeExplore the BBC
This page was last updated in February 2007We've left it here for reference.More information

3 October 2014
Accessibility help
Text only

BBC Homepage

Contact Us

Like this page?
Send it to a friend!


13 May 2005

Friday 13 May 2005 22:15-23:30 (Radio 3)

Mark Russell and Robert Sandall talk to singer-songwriter and Wilco frontman Jeff Tweedy.


1 hour 15 minutes



Presented by Mark Russell and Robert Sandall
Produced by Felix Carey
Factsheet compiled by Sam Hickling

Tel. 020 7765 4661
Fax. 020 7765 4378
e-mail mixing.it@bbc.co.uk

Friday 13 May 2005, 10:15pm

Jose González: Remain (3.44)
In a break with their dance tradition, the Peacefrog label presents this album from a young Swedish singer/songwriter/acoustic guitarist with a distinctly Latin-sounding name.
album: Veneer
Peacefrog Records PFG066CD

Curtis Roads: Volt Air IV (2003) (1.57)
Mixing It encountered Curtis Roads at the Autechre-curated All Tomorrow's Parties Festival in 2003. He currently teaches at the University of California, and is a pioneer of a technique known as 'granular synthesis', in which sound is generated from acoustic particles. This album is a collaboration with the video artist Brian O'Reilly, and comes as a double disc CD/DVD set.
album: Point Line Cloud (Electronic Music 1999-2003)
Asphodel ASP3000
Asphodel, 763 Brannan St, San Francisco, CA 94103 USA

O Lamm: That Very Moment Rewritten with Bulbs Inside (5.00)
In 2000, Olivier Lamm was a member of the Parisian experimental collective Evènement.
Zoe Wolf (vocals); Kumi Okamoto (trumpets); Lola Motelli (trombone/tuba); Stéphane Domotic (drums); Vicky Elan (spoken part); Olivier 'Odot' Lamm (everything else)
album: Hello Spiral
Active Suspension ACD 11

Interview: Jeff Tweedy (34.00)
Jeff Tweedy is the is the leader of Wilco. He was also a member of Uncle Tupelo, plays in the duo Loose Fur with Jim O'Rourke, and has appeared with the Golden Smog collective.

Music details:

Wilco: Spiders (Kidsmoke); Less Than You Think
album: A Ghost Is Born
Nonesuch 7559-79892-2

Wilco: Ashes of American Flags; Heavy Metal Drummer
album: Yankee Hotel Foxtrot
Nonesuch 7559 79669-2

Loose Fur: You Were Wrong
album: Loose Fur
Domino WIGCD 119

Read a review of A Ghost Is Born at

*The competition challenge to win a copy of The Wilco Book and A Ghost Is Born CD is to choose who you think would be a good producer for the band.*
Ideas to:
Mixing It, BBC Broadcasting House, London W1A 1AA

Hwyl Nofio: Holy Ghosts (5.54)
Hwyl Nofio (the name translates from Welsh roughly as 'emotional swimmers') is an evolving ensemble based around one Steve Parry, who has previously worked with Matt Johnson of The The and Colin Potter of Nurse With Wound. This track is a reflection of 'lost loved ones'. Steve Parry plays harmonium, 45rpm neubass and clock. Elsewhere on the album, Rothko main man Mark Beazley, Danish guitarist Fredrik Soegaard and Hungarian guitarist Sandor Zabo can be heard.
album: Hymnal
Hwyl Nofio HWYLN18CD

M Ward: Fuel For Fire (4.07)
M Ward with Joe Clarks (bass/percussion) and Jim James (guitar)
M Ward is a Portland-based songwriter whose voice has been described as a 'sepia-toned croon'.
album: Transistor Radio (memories of a utopian radio power)
Matador OLE 642-2

Andrew Hodson: Set Your Feelings Free (5.00)
Andrew Hodson is a composer and sound artist based in Newcastle Upon Tyne. This album is made up of found sounds and performances recorded on location in the Rivington Mental Health Unit at the Royal Bolton Hospital in early summer 2004. Patients, nurses, cleaners and doctors were invited to record sounds of their own choice, from fax machines to fire extinguishers to poetry readings to musical instruments. It was then up to Andrew to compile all these sounds into a coherent suite of music. The whole thing was commissioned by the LIME Art in Health organisation, and it uses Andrew's newly formulated Rules of Social or Community Sampling.
album: In your heart you will find your dreams
Try Records TR00001
*100 copies of this CD are available to Mixing It listeners who send their postal address to this e-mail address*:

Wilco: Hummingbird (3.53)
A different version of the song which appeared on Wilco's A Ghost Is Born album; this version appears on the CD that comes with The Wilco Book (Picturebox, Inc. ISBN 0-9713670-3-5)
Jeff Tweedy (vocal/acoustic guitar); John Stirratt (bass); Leroy Bach (piano/organ/synthesiser/percussion); Glenn Kotche (drums/percussion/hammered dulcimer); recorded February 2002 at Soma EMS, Chicago
album: The Wilco Book insert CD
Picturebox, Inc.
Picturebox, Inc, 228 West Houston Street #3, New York NY 10014 USA

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


About the BBC | Help | Terms of Use | Privacy & Cookies Policy