[an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive]

BBC - (none) - Mixing It - 3 March 2006 [an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive]
BBC HomeExplore the BBC
This page was last updated in November 2006We've left it here for reference.More information

3 October 2014
Accessibility help
Text only

BBC Homepage

Contact Us

Like this page?
Send it to a friend!


3 March 2006

Friday 3 March 2006 22:15-23:30 (Radio 3)

Mark Russell and Robert Sandall present a unique mix of musical styles and influences.


1 hour 15 minutes



Presented by Mark Russell and Robert Sandall
Produced by Philip Tagney
Factsheet compiled by Sam Hickling

Tel. 020 7765 4661
Fax. 020 7765 4378
e-mail mixing.it@bbc.co.uk

Friday 3 March 2006, 10:15pm

Youngblood Brass Band: March (3.14)
This marching band for the hip hop generation consists of DH Skogen (beats/percussion/vocals), Charley Wagner, Jeff Madden, Mike Boman (trumpets), Joe Goltz, Matt Hanzelka (trombones), Joshua Smith (tenor sax) and Kenny Bentley (sousaphone)
The lyrics to this song originally appeared in the book Song Settled Scores (Layered Books, 2004)
album: Is that a riot?
Layered LR015-2

Mole Harness: A present from the future (7.46)
This latest record by Bristol-based composer and producer James Brewster is constructed entirely from guitar sounds.
album: A present from the future
Stray Dog Army MZL003

Brian Eno & David Byrne: Number 8 Mix (3.33)
This is one of the previously unreleased tracks that will feature on a forthcoming re-release of the groundbreaking 1981 collaboration between David Byrne and Brian Eno. Whilst working together on the Talking Heads album 'Remain in Light', Eno and Byrne gathered together a group of musicians to explore the African and Arabic rhythms that had interested them for some years. Over these backing tracks they superimposed field recordings of exotic voices from a variety of sources.
album: My Life in the Bush of Ghosts
Nonesuch 79894

Diskaholics Anonymous Trio: Weapons of Ass Destruction Part 1 (4.06)
Mats Gustafsson (saxophones and live electronics); Jim O'Rourke (synthesiser); Thurston Moore (guitar)
This collaboration between Sonic Youth's Moore and O'Rourke, and the Swedish saxophonist was recorded live at Ystads Teater, Sweden, on 6 October 2002
album: Weapons of Ass Destruction
Smalltown Superjazzz STSJ091CD

Imogen Heap: Headlock (3.32)
Classically trained pianist Imogen Heap released her first album I Megaphone in 1998. The album had three producers: David Kahne and Dave Stewart, and Guy Sigsworth, with whom she formed the duo Frou Frou. This is from her second solo album, written and produced by herself.
album: Speak for Yourself
Megaphonic Records MEGAD001

That F***ing Tank: Making a Meal for Beethoven (3.47)
That F***ing Tank are a Leeds duo consisting of Andrew on baritone guitar and James on a tiny drum kit. They are also members of the band Kill Yourself.
album: Day of Death by Bono Adrenaline Shot
Jealous Records JLS14

Aki Tsuyuko: Zou and Chou (5.42)
Aki Tsuyuko is an organist and illustrator from Gifu in Japan. In the mid 90s she became friendly with Nobukazu Takemura and eventually joined his Child's View band. She has also performed with Tortoise, Sonic Youth, Jim O'Rourke, Yo La Tengo and Arto Lindsay.
album: Hokane
Thrill Jockey THRILL158

Die Trip Computer Die: Glucose (3.29)
This album marks a new direction for the resolutely underground British group, fronted by Lepke B and Xentos Fray Bentos, in its embracing of the song form.
album: Die Like a Rock
Alcohol ALDT3CD

Soft Machine: Neo Caliban Grides (5.44)
Saxophonist Elton Dean died on 7 February this year. He took up the saxophone aged 18 and joined the group Bluesology in the 1960s, inspiring the group's young pianist Reginald Dwight to change his name. Later, Elton Dean was to collaborate with many famous names in the jazz field, such as Carla Bley, Keith Tippett and the London Jazz Composers Orchestra, but one of his most remembered jobs was playing with the group Soft Machine, and this Elton Dean-composed track comes from a recording they made for BBC Radio 1 in the early 1970s.
Elton Dean (sax); Mike Ratledge (organ); Hugh Hopper (electric bass); Robert Wyatt (drums); Phil Howard (drums)
album: BBC Radio 1 Live in Concert
Windsong International WINCD 031

Clayhill: Suffer Not (4.49)
Clayhill came together when guitarist Ted Barnes and bassist Ali Friend (of Warp Records band Red Snapper) were working together on Beth Orton's Trailer Park album. They identified the frontman of the group Sunhouse, Gavin Clark, as an ideal vocalist for their project. This track features Olafur Olafsson on drums and Alex Gordon on backing vocals.
album: Mine At Last
Eat Sleep Records EAT052CD
Click here to hear an interview with Gavin Clark

Danielle Palardy Roger: Moimoimoi/Mon amour from Bruiducœur (4.26)
Danielle Palardy Roger is a percussionist, composer and improviser from Montréal. This vocal piece comes from an oratorio she wrote for two narrators, two soloists, two percussionists, and a thirteen-piece self-conducted choir, which emerged from a composition residency at Vancouver's Western Front in the summer of 2002.
Performed by VivaVoce with Patrick Graham and Jean Martin (percussion)
album: Bruiducœur - prières des infidels
Ambiances Magnetiques AM 146 CD

Solex + M.A.E.: Go Easy On The Fun Fund (2.28)
Dutch label Konkurrent's CD series In The Fishtank aims to put artists together in collaboration, giving them chance to branch out in new ways. Previous collaborations have included Tortoise and the Ex, and Low and Dirty Three. This latest one teams Amsterdam-based sample artist Liesbeth Esselink with the ten-piece Maarten Altena Ensemble.
M.A.E. are Jussi Jaatinen, Karolina Bäter, Noa Frenkel, Sonja Helasvuo, Reinier Van Houdt, Paul Van Utrecht, Koen Kaptijn, Michel Marang, Hans Van Der Meer, Pieter Smithuijsen
album: In The Fishtank 13
Konkurrent FISHTANK 13
Konkurrent, PO Box 14598, 1001 LB Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Borut Krzisnik: Trembling Web (4.05)
This music is from the new film by director Peter Greenaway (The Draughtsman's Contract/The Cook, The Thief, His Wife and Her Lover). Borut Krzisnik was born in Croatia, and now lives in Ljubljana, Slovenia. He was formerly in the groups Laibach and Borghesia, and is also the founder of DATA DIRECT, a group of Slovene, Italian and Yugoslav musicians exploring contemporary eclectic music.
album: Music for the Film A Life in Suitcases
First Name Soundtracks NAME 403

Ahmed má hlad: Magadan (1.45)
Ahmed má hlad are a an 8-piece Czech band consisting of Štepán Cernoušek (bass), Michal Hroza (clarinet/alto sax/vocals), Filip Hrubý (drums), Daniel Hule (accordion), Laura Kopecká (lead vocal), Mikuláš Kroupa (clarinet/soprano sax/vocals), Andrej Novik (lead vocal) and Jan Žemlicka (guitars/balalaika). This track is taken from a sampler of the Czech Indies label produced for the WOMEX World Music convention.
album: Indies Records - WOMEX 2005 UK
Indies Records MXM005-2
This track originally appeared on the Ahmed má hlad album Magadan (Indies Records MAM243-2)

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

About the BBC | Help | Terms of Use | Privacy & Cookies Policy