[an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive]

BBC - (none) - Jazz on 3 - Bennie Maupin Ensemble [an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive]
BBC HomeExplore the BBC
This page was last updated in May 2007We've left it here for reference.More information

3 October 2014
Accessibility help
Text only

BBC Homepage

Contact Us

Like this page?
Send it to a friend!


Bennie Maupin Ensemble

Friday 18 May 2007 23:30-1:00 (Radio 3)

Jez Nelson presents live music from reedsman Bennie Maupin and his band recorded at the Cheltenham Festival, plus there's a chat with Pat Metheny about the final album from Michael Brecker ahead of its release next week.


1 hour 30 minutes


Presenter: Jez Nelson
Producer: Robert Abel

Programme intro:

Tracks featured:

Artist Herbie Hancock / Head Hunters
Title Vein Melter
Composer Herbie Hancock
Label Columbia
Album Title Head Hunters
Cat No. Columbia 471239

Artist Miles Davis
Title Pharaoh's Dance
Composer Joe Zawinul
Album Title Bitches Brew
Label Columbia
Cat No. CK 65123

Artist Russell Gunn
Title Seventy Four Miles Away
Composer Zawinul
Album Title Ethnomusicology Volume 1
Label Atlantic
Cat No. 7567-83165-2

Bennie Maupin Ensemble recorded live at the Everyman Theatre, Cheltenham as part of the 2007 Cheltenham Jazz Festival on Sunday May 6th 2007


Bennie Maupin - bass clarinet, soprano and tenor saxophones, alto flute
Michael Stephans - drums, percussion, spoken word
Darek Oles - bass
Munyungo Jackson - percussion, Dacadebello (on 'Penumbra')

Set list:

Neophilia 2006
Trope On A Rope
Mingus Ah-Um

John Fordham interviews Bennie Maupin

Walter Bishop Jr.
Message To Prez

(All tracks by Bennie Maupin except Penumbra, by Maupin / Stephans / Oles / Jackson)

Visit www.benniemaupin.com for further information

Preview of new Michael Brecker album, Pilgrimage

Interview with Pat Metheny

Artist Michael Brecker (Michael Brecker - tenor sax, Pat Metheny - guitar; Brad Mehldau - piano; John Patitucci - bass; Jack DeJohnette - drums)
Title Tumbleweed
Composer Michael Brecker
Publisher Grand Street Music
Label Emarcy
Album Title Pilgrimage
Cat No. 0602517263512

Pilgrimage is released on Monday 21st May 2007

About the BBC | Help | Terms of Use | Privacy & Cookies Policy