[an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive]

BBC - (none) - Jazz on 3 - Steve Noble/John Edwards/Ingrid Laubrock Session [an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive]
BBC HomeExplore the BBC
This page was last updated in June 2008We've left it here for reference.More information

3 October 2014
Accessibility help
Text only

BBC Homepage

Contact Us

Like this page?
Send it to a friend!


Steve Noble/John Edwards/Ingrid Laubrock Session

Friday 4 July 2008 23:30-1:00 (Radio 3)

Jez Nelson presents an exclusive session from drummer Steve Noble, double bassist John Edwards and saxophonist Ingrid Laubrock. The performance showcases each player's technical virtuosity as well as their collective musicianship.


1 hour 30 minutes


Presenter: Kevin LeGendre
Producer: Peggy Sutton

Jazz On 3 signature tune

Artist Russell Gunn (Russell Gunn - trumpet, Gregory Tardy & Bruce Williams - reeds, Andre Heyward - trombone, Chieli Minucci - guitar, James Hurt - keyboards, Rodney Jordan - bass, Woody Williams - drums, Khalil Kwame Bell - percussion, DJ Apollo - turntables)
Title Seventy Four Miles Away
Composer Joe Zawinul
Album Title Ethnomusicology Volume 1
Label Atlantic

CD Round-Up

Artist Fieldwork (Vijay Iyer - piano; Steve Lehman - alto saxophone; Tyshawn Sorey - drums)Track Title Rai
Composer Steve Lehman
Album Title Door+
Label Pi Recordings
Cat No. PI26

Artist Jason Adasiewicz (Jason Adasiewicz - vibraphone; Josh Berman - cornet; Aram Shelton - alto saxophone and clarinet; Jason Roebke - bass; Frank Rosaly - drums)
Track Title Small Potatoes
Composer Jason Adasiewicz
Album Title Rolldown
Label 482 Music
Cat No. 482-1054

Artist Phil Minton
Track Title No Doughnuts in Hand 9
Composer Phil Minton
Album Title No Doughnuts in Hand
Label Emanem
Cat No. 4148

Artist Roy Hargrove (Roy Hargrove - Trumpet & Flugelhorn; Justin Robinson - Alto Sax & Flute; Gerald Clayton - Piano; Danton Boller - Bass; Motez Coleman - Drums)
Track Title Mr Clean
Composer Weldon Irvine jr
Album Title Earfood
Label BMI
Cat No. 0602517641815

Artist Blink (Robin Fincker - Tennor Sax & Clarinet; Alcyona Mick - Piano; Paul Clarvis - Drums)Track Title Tin Box
Composer Robert Fincker
Album Title Blink
Label Loop Records
Cat No. 1004

Steve Noble, John Edwards and Ingrid Laubrock recorded in session at Phoenix Sound, Pinewood Studios on the 21st February 2008

Steve Noble - drums
John Edwards - bass
Ingrid Laubrock - tenor saxophone

There and Back
4.52 am
The Long Firm
The Process
On the Rebound
Criss Cross

All tracks are improvised

About the BBC | Help | Terms of Use | Privacy & Cookies Policy