[an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive] BBC - (none) - Jazz on 3 [an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive]
BBC HomeExplore the BBC
This page was last updated in July 2006We've left it here for reference.More information

1 August 2014
Accessibility help
Text only

BBC Homepage

Contact Us

Like this page?
Send it to a friend!


Music from a bona fide supergroup featuring former members of Ornette Coleman's Prime Time, Defunkt and Living Colour, recorded at the Barbican in London. The Punk-Funk Allstars consist of James 'Blood' Ulmer and Vernon Reid (guitars, vocals), Melvin Gibbs (bass, vocals), Joseph Bowie (trombone, vocals), and Ronald Shannon Jackson (drums, vocals). Plus Sue Steward presents a tribute to recently deceased latin jazz pianist Hilton Ruiz and playing some highlights from his solo recordings, as well as a classic date with Roland Kirk.


Jazz on 3

Presented by Jez Nelson

Jazz On 3 signature tune

Artist Russell Gunn
Title Seventy Four Miles Away
Composer Joe Zawinul
Label Atlantic
LP Title Ethnomusicology Volume 1

Punk-Funk Allstars recorded live at the Barbican, London on Sunday 16 th July 2006


James "Blood" Ulmer - guitar and vocals
Vernon Reid - guitar and vocals
Melvin Gibbs - bass and vocals
Ronald Shannon Jackson - drums and vocals
Joseph Bowie - trombone and vocals


1 st set

We All Dance Together
Drum solo
Jazz Is The Teacher

Jez Nelson interviews Melvin Gibbs and Vernon Reid

2 nd set

Voluntary Slavery
Guitar solo (Vernon Reid)
Make Them Dance

Tribute to Hilton Ruiz presented by Sue Steward

Artist Hilton Ruiz (piano), Rodney Jones (guitar), Lew Soloff (trumpet), Dick Griffin (trombone), Sam Rivers (saxophones and flute), Andy Gonzalez (bass), Steve Berrios (drums) Jerry Gonzalez (congas and percussion), Endel Dueno (timbales), Jose Alexis Diaz (percussion and congas)
Title Message From The Chief
Composer Hilton Ruiz
Label RCA
LP Title El Camino (The Road)

Artist Rahsaan Roland Kirk (saxophones, flute), Hilton Ruiz (piano), Henry "Metathias" Pearson (bass), John Goldsmith (drums), Samson Verge (percussion)
Title Freaks For The Festival
Composer Rahsaan Roland Kirk
Label Hyena
LP Title Compliments of the Mysterious Phantom

Artist Hilton Ruiz (piano), Jimmy Rowser (bass), Steve Berrios (drums and percussion), Daniel Ponce (congas, bongos), Don Cherry (trumpet)
Title Shades of Thelonious
Composer Hilton Ruiz
Label BMG
LP Title Doin' it Right

Artist Hilton Ruiz (piano), Mario Rivera (sax, flute), Sal Cuevas (bass), Ignacio Berroa (drums), Daniel Ponce (conga, bata), Orland "Puntilla" Rios (cora, bato), Gene Golden (bata)
Title Jazzbata
Label DIW Records
LP Title Live from Soundscape - Latin Jazz

Artist Luisito Quintero (percussion), Hilton Ruiz (piano)
Title Quintero's Jam feat Hilton Ruiz
Composer Luisito Quintero, Luis F Vega, Selan Lerner, Jose Mangual
Label BBE
LP Title Louie Vega presents Luisito Quintero Percussion Madness

About the BBC | Help | Terms of Use | Privacy & Cookies Policy