[an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive]

BBC - (none) - Jazz on 3 - The Necks [an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive]
BBC HomeExplore the BBC
This page was last updated in June 2008We've left it here for reference.More information

3 October 2014
Accessibility help
Text only

BBC Homepage

Contact Us

Like this page?
Send it to a friend!


The Necks

Friday 13 June 2008 23:30-1:00 (Radio 3)

Jez Nelson presents a gig held at London's Vortex jazz club last month featuring cult Australian improvising trio The Necks, whose unbroken, wholly improvised sets and unearthly, minimalist textures have gained them a large fan base worldwide. The line-up includes Chris Abrahams on piano, Tony Buck on drums and Lloyd Swanton on bass, musicians who are among Australia's most in-demand and who collectively have over 200 albums to their names.

As a group, The Necks have released over a dozen albums, and their soundtrack to Rowan Woods's 1998 film The Boys was named best soundtrack album at the prestigious Australian Recording Industry Association awards.


1 hour 30 minutes


Presenter: Jez Nelson
Producer: Robert Abel

Jazz On 3 signature tune

Artist Russell Gunn (Russell Gunn - trumpet, Gregory Tardy & Bruce Williams - reeds, Andre Heyward - trombone, Chieli Minucci - guitar, James Hurt - keyboards, Rodney Jordan - bass, Woody Williams - drums, Khalil Kwame Bell - percussion, DJ Apollo - turntables)
Title Seventy Four Miles Away
Composer Joe Zawinul
Album Title Ethnomusicology Volume 1
Label Atlantic

Satoko Fujii Quartet recorded in session on 17th April 2005

Satoko Fujii - piano
Natsuki Tamura - trumpet
Mark Dresser - bass
Jim Black - drums

Track Title - Flying To The South
Composer - Satoko Fujii

Satoko Fuji and Natsuki Tamura will perform with the Glasgow Improviser's Orchestra at the Glasgow International Jazz festival on Friday 20th June.
For more details go to www.jazzfest.co.uk

Esperanza Spalding & Gerard Presencer recorded in session on 26th May 2008

Esperanza Spalding - vocals, double bass, Doolin bass
Gerard Presencer - trumpet

Track Title - Freedom Jazz Dance
Composer - Eddie Harris

Track Title - Midnight Sun
Composer - Lionel Hampton & Sonny Burke

Track Title - I Fall In Love Too Easily
Composer - Sammy Cahn / Jule Styne

The Necks recorded in concert at The Vortex, London on 20th May 2008

Lloyd Swanton - double bass
Tony Buck - drums
Chris Abrahams - piano

Track Title - Locksmith
Composer - Christopher Abrahams/Tony Buck/Lloyd Swanton


Polar Bear recorded in concert at the Royal Festival Hall, London on 8th June 2007

Seb Rochford - drums
Leafcutter John - electronics
Tom Herbert - bass
Mark Lockheart - saxophone
Pete Wareham - saxophone

Track Title Tomlovesalicelovestom
Composer Sebastian Rochford


About the BBC | Help | Terms of Use | Privacy & Cookies Policy