[an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive]

BBC - (none) - Jazz on 3 [an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive]
BBC HomeExplore the BBC
This page was last updated in October 2007We've left it here for reference.More information

3 October 2014
Accessibility help
Text only

BBC Homepage

Contact Us

Like this page?
Send it to a friend!



Presenter: Jez Nelson
Producer: Peggy Sutton

Artist Russell Gunn
Title Seventy Four Miles Away
Composer Zawinul
Album Title Ethnomusicology Volume 1
Label Atlantic
Cat No. 7567-83165-2

CD Round-Up

Artist Human Feel (Jim Black - drums / electronics; Andrew D'Angelo; Kurt Rosenwinkel - guitar / voice)
Title Fuss
Composer Human Feel
Album Title Galore
Label Skirl
Cat No. DC 006


Artist Gilad Atzmon & The Orient House Ensemble (Gilad Atzmon -saxophones, Frank Harrison - piano, electronics; Yaron Stavi - bass; Asaf Sirkis - drums)
Title Spring In New York
Composer Gilad Atzmon
Album Title N/A - Live Performance
Label Enja Records
Cat No. TIP-888 849 2


Artist Gwilym Simcock (Gwilym Simcock - piano; Phil Donkin - double bass; Martin France - drums)
Title A Typical Affair
Composer Gwilym Simcock
Album Title Perception
Label Basho Music
Cat No. SRCD 24-2


Artist Vijay Iyer - piano / Rudresh Mahanthappa - alto saxophone
Title Five Fingers Make A Fist
Composer Vijay Iyer
Album Title Raw Materials
Label Pi
Cat No. Pi 903


Artist Portico Quartet (Jack Wylie - soprano & alto saxophones; milo Fitzpatrick - double bass; Duncan Bellamy - drums, hang; Nick Mulvey - hang)
Title News From Verona
Composer The Portico Quartet
Label The Vortex
Cat No. TBC
Album Title Knee Deep In The North Sea


Artist Phronesis
Title Melody
Composer Jasper Hoiby
Label Loop
Cat No. Loop1003
Album Title Organic Warfare

Artist Mike Westbrook's The Village Band
Title Waxeywork Show
Composer Mike Westbrook / Kate West
Label Jazzprint
Cat No. JPVP140CD
Album Title Waxeywork Show

Jez interviews James Allsopp and Tim Giles

Fraud recorded in session at 2nd October 2007 at Phoenix Sound, Pinewood Studios


James Allsopp - saxophones and bass clarinet
Tim Giles - drums and electronic percussion
Chris Sharkey - guitar
Philip Hochstratte - keyboards
Ben Reynolds - drums


Linctus (James Allsopp / Tim Giles)
Mr. Lizard (James Allsopp)
Peripherole (James Allsopp)

Feature: Miles Davis 'On The Corner' Box Set

Music played:

(All from the 'The Complete On The Corner Sessions' on Columbia / Legacy, Cat. No. 88697062392)

Black Satin (Davis)


Miles Davis - trumpet; Dave Liebman - soprano sax; Chick Corea - synthesizer; Herbie Hancock - electric piano; Harold Ivory Williams - organ; John McLaughlin - guitar; Colin Walcott - electric sitar; Michael Henderson - electric bass; Jack DeJohnette; Don Alias - congos; Badal Roy - tablas; Billy Hart - wood block, cowbell, percussion. Recorded June 1st 1972 in Columbia Studio B, New York City.

On The Corner (Davis)

Line-up as above

What The Do (Davis)


Miles Davis - trumpet, organ; Sonny Fortune - soprano sax, flute; Reggie Lucas, Dominique Gaumont - guitar; Michael Henderson - electric bass; Pete Cosey - drums; Mtume - congas. Recorded November 6th 1974, Columbia Studio B, new York City.

About the BBC | Help | Terms of Use | Privacy & Cookies Policy