BBC HomeExplore the BBC
This page has been archived and is no longer updated. Find out more about page archiving.

Accessibility help
Text only
BBC Homepage
BBC Music
BBC Radio 3

Radio 3

Contact Us

Like this page?
Send it to a friend!

Artur Pizarro - The Beethoven Sonata Cycle
Piano Sonata No. 9 in E, Op. 14 No. 1
Rondo: Allegro comodo

The first sonata of Beethoven's Op. 14 makes a lyrical counterpoint to its predecessor, the Pathétique. Along with the second in G, it was astutely dedicated to Baroness Josefa von Braun, whose husband was court theatre director in Vienna and thus provided the key to the composer's orchestral ambitions - it was the Baron who allotted Beethoven the date and venue for the premiere of his First Symphony in 1800. The E major Sonata is one of the best documented in Beethoven's sketchbooks, which date its composition to 1798-9. Two years later he was persuaded to rearrange it for string quartet, transposing it to the key of F major.

Op. 14 No. 1 is a modest work in three movements. The first opens with a spacious theme that stretches itself upwards through an octave and contrasts with the step-by-step chromaticism of the second theme. Although not marked as such, the E minor middle movement has the character and form of a minuet, with an intimate trio in the major. The finale is an amiable rondo ('comodo' effectively translates as 'comfortable') which finds Beethoven playing with sudden dynamic changes.

Artur Pizarro
Related Links
on radio 3
on the web
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external websites.

About the BBC | Help | Terms of Use | Privacy & Cookies Policy