On Radio 3 Now

In Tune

16:30 - 17:30

Sean Rafferty presents a selection of music and guests from the arts world.

Next On Air

17:30 Opera on 3

View full schedule

Chopin Études Playlist

Chopin bust at the monastery at Valldemossa, Majorca

As part of the Chopin Experience an uninterrupted sequence of both his Op.10 and Op.25 sets of Études was broadcast.

Each Étude was performed by a different pianist, and details of the performers are given below.

Etudes Op.10

No.1 in C major

Martha Argerich (1965 Warsaw Competition performance)

    No.2 in A minor

    Boris Berezovsky (1991 Teldec)

      No.3 in E major

      Adam Harasiewicz (1961 Philips)

        No.4 in C sharp minor

        Alfred Cortot (1939 Naxos Historical)

          No.5 in G flat major

          Dinu Lipatti (1950 Besancon Recital, EMI)

            No.6 in E flat minor

            Moura Lympany (1995 Erato)

              No.7 in C major

              Nikita Magaloff (1975 Philips)

                No.8 in F major

                Solomon (1935 Testament)

                  No.9 in F minor

                  Rubinstein (1959 BBC Legends)

                    No.10 in A flat major

                    Vlado Perlemuter 1982 Nimbus

                      No.11 in E flat major

                      Vladimir Ashkenazy (1975 Decca)

                        No.12 in C minor

                        Ignaz Friedmann (1926 Pearl)

                          Etudes Op.25

                          No.1 in A flat major

                          Geza Anda (1956 Testament)

                            No.2 in F minor

                            Wilhelm Bachhaus (1953 Ermitage)

                              No.3 in F major

                              Louis Lortie (1986 Chandos)

                                No.4 in A minor

                                Tamas Vasary (1964 Deutsche Grammophon)

                                  No.5 in E minor

                                  Feruccio Busoni (1922 Pearl)

                                    No.6 in G sharp minor

                                    Mikhail Pletnev (1997 Deutsche Grammophon)

                                      No.7 in C sharp minor

                                      Murray Perahia (2002 Sony Classical)

                                        No.8 in D flat major

                                        Stanislav Bunin (1987 Deutsche Grammophon)

                                          No.9 in G flat major

                                          John Browning (1968 RCA)

                                            No.10 in B minor

                                            Andrei Gavrilov (1985-87 EMI)

                                              No.11 in A minor

                                              Van Cliburn (1961/71 or 75 RCA)

                                                No.12 in C minor

                                                Maurizio Pollini (1972 Deutsche Grammophon)

                                                  BBC navigation

                                                  BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

                                                  This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.