On Radio 3 Now

In Tune

16:30 - 17:30

Sean Rafferty presents a selection of music and guests from the arts world.

Next On Air

17:30 Opera on 3

View full schedule


Monday 6th June, 1000-1300
Glenn Gould

Molto allegro e con brio
Molto adagio
Finale: Prestissimo

Composed in 1796, this Sonata is an early example of Beethoven's unique symphonic style. Its organic mode of composition looks ahead to that of the Fifth Symphony (also in his Pathétique key of C minor). Yet all three movements also have a Classical quality, and it seems likely that Mozart's C minor Sonata K457 (1785) was used as a model, though the Beethoven is more rough-hewn and youthful in spirit.

The organic quality of the Allegro is seen in the frequent recurrence in different guises of the two principal ideas of the opening theme: an extended rising triad and a falling scalic figure. Indeed, these features permeate the whole work: in the Adagio the leaping triadic figure is transformed as part of the main theme and provides the outline for the fast runs of the episodes, each time followed by a descending scale. The first subject of the sonata form finale, too, is based on a short bar-long phrase rising up a position of the triad on each repetition. The short development contains the famous anticipation of the motto-theme of the Fifth Symphony.

Matthew Rye

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.