BBC HomeExplore the BBC
This page has been archived and is no longer updated. Find out more about page archiving.

Accessibility help
Text only
BBC Homepage
BBC Music

Contact Us

Like this page?
Send it to a friend!





HefnerHefner were a British indie band comprised of Darren Hayman (vocals, guitar, keyboards), Antony Harding (drums, backing vocals), John Morrison (bass) and Jack Hayter (guitar, pedal steel guitar, keyboards, fiddle). They met and formed in 1992 when Hayman and Harding met at art school, adding the other members in London. Their debut 'Another Better Friend' EP was released in 1996 and scored them a record deal with Too Pure, where they released their debut album, 'Breaking God's Heart', in 1998. The second album 'The Fidelity Wars' came out a year later. The band then moved on to a deal with Beggars Banquet. Later releases 'We Love the City' and 'Dead Media' saw them move in a more electronic direction. Since then they've played together only once, for a tribute to John Peel, who was a strong supporter of theirs.



About the BBC | Help | Terms of Use | Privacy & Cookies Policy

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external websites