Monday 2 September 2013
7.30pm – c10.00pm
Royal Albert Hall

  • Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

    Symphony No. 1 in G minor 'Winter Daydreams' (44 mins)
    • Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra
    • Vasily Petrenko conductor
  • Karol Szymanowski

    Violin Concerto No. 1 (24 mins)
    • Vasily Petrenko conductor
    • Baiba Skride violin
    • Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra
  • Sergey Rachmaninov

    Symphonic Dances (36 mins)
    • Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra
    • Vasily Petrenko conductor

About this event

Proms debut violinist Baiba Skride joins the Oslo Philharmonic and its new Chief Conductor, Vasily Petrenko, to continue the Proms focus on Polish music in their performance of Szymanowski’s Violin Concerto No. 1, an opulent nocturnal fantasy from a composer enchanted by the sound-worlds and peoples of North Africa and the southern Mediterranean, and inspired by the ‘amorous conflagration’ of Tadeusz Miciński’s poem ‘May Night’.

Tchaikovsky’s youthful Symphony No. 1, ‘Winter Daydreams’, and Rachmaninov’s nostalgic final work, the Symphonic Dances of 1940, frame the concerto in a programme rich with dreams.

Watch and listen to more music by Tchaikovsky at the Proms.

The Proms Archive

Search by: