Thursday 23 August 2012
7.30pm – c9.50pm
Royal Albert Hall

  • Sir Peter Maxwell Davies

    Symphony No.9 (25 mins) London premiere
    • Vasily Petrenko conductor
    • Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra
  • Frederick Delius

    Violin Concerto (25 mins)
    • Tasmin Little violin
    • Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra
    • Vasily Petrenko conductor
  • Dmitry Shostakovich

    Symphony No. 10 in E minor, Op 93 (45 mins)
    • Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra
    • Vasily Petrenko conductor

About this event

To celebrate Her Majesty’s Diamond Jubilee, the Master of The Queen’s Music has written a one-movement work for orchestra and additional brass sextet, promising ‘a dramatic and virtuoso challenge to all concerned’.

While 1934 saw the birth of Sir Peter, it was also the year in which we lost three key players in Britain’s musical renaissance, Delius not least among them. His Violin Concerto has no more ardent champion than Tasmin Little.

Finally, the symphony often rated Shostakovich’s finest is renewed by tonight’s famously high-voltage Liverpool partnership.


Discover the Music

Download a short audio guide published on the day about a key work in tonight’s Prom: Stephen Johnson talks about Delius's Violin Concerto.

The Proms Archive

Search by: